top of page
Will you make A Narrow Escape (3).png
Will you make A Narrow Escape (6).png
Will you make A Narrow Escape (1).png

Ohio Club, Bailey's announced as 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame finalists

Updated: Jan 31, 2022


Word of the day: Gourmand

1. One who is excessively fond of eating and drinking.

2: One who is heartily interested in good food and drink.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Gourmand. In dictionary. Retrieved January 25, 2022, from

The finalists for Arkansas Heritage's 2022 class of the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame were announced Monday, and Hot Springs eateries The Ohio Club and Bailey's Dairy Treat made the list.

Also, retired Hot Springs eateries Mrs. Miller’s Chicken & Steak House and Coy's Steak House made the finalists list for the "Gone But Not Forgotten" category.

These finalists came from over 2,000 submissions across the state. The winners will be announced Feb. 7 at the CALS Ron Robinson Theater. Tickets are $20 and can be purchased here. There is also a free virtual option that requires no ticket, only registration. To register, click here.

This will be the fourth year in a row The Ohio Club has made the finalists list. Past Hot Springs winners include McClard's Bar-B-Q in 2018 and The Ohio Club in 2020.

According to the Arkansas Heritage website, a nomination period is open to the public annually. Final selection will be by a blue-ribbon panel of judges selected by the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Committee.

"Admittance into the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame will be a triumphant recognition of those long-standing restaurants that have also become legendary attractions in Authentic Arkansas," the website said.

"These are the places with the dishes we crave and will drive hours, if need be, just to take a bite.

"Eligible restaurants must be owned and operated in Arkansas and have been in business for at least 25 years; national chain restaurants need not apply. Each year, three honorees will be inducted."

This year's committee of Arkansas historians, chefs, foodies and food authors who will be selecting the winners include: Stacy Hurst, Paul S. Austin, Jimmy Bryant, Chip Culpepper, Quantia “Key” Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware and Stanley Young.

To view all the 2022 finalists, visit About You.

Note: In addition to Mrs. Miller’s Chicken & Steak House, retired Garland County eatery Coy's Steak House was also named a finalist in the "Gone But Not Forgotten" category. Coy's was not published in the original article, but later added Jan. 31, 2022.
Deathtrap, Pocket Community Theatre.png
bottom of page